top of page
  • Writer's pictureWIG WAM WEBMASTER


Norwegian rock n’ roll warriors Wig Wam have announced the release of a new studio album entitled ‘Out Of The Dark’ on 10th February 2023.

Following fresh interest in the band thanks to their classic song ‘Do Ya Wanna Taste It’ being used as the theme song for HBO’s popular Peacemaker superhero TV series, ‘Out Of The Dark’ sees the band feeling truly reinvigorated and inspired. A first single and video (produced by Patric Ullaeus) for the album title track is already available, watch it here

“We came out of the pandemic and had a pretty rough ‘rebirth’ doing a comeback in the midst of this dark period of live music,” explains vocalist Åge Sten Nilsen.

The new album is, of course, also a ‘happier’ record, even though some of the song lyrics reflect on darker themes in our society. However, they all have one thing in common: a positive outcome and never giving up.”

Wig Wam, vocalist Glam (Åge Sten Nilsen), guitarist Teeny (Trond Holter), bassist Flash (Bernt Jansen), and drummer Sporty (Øystein Andersen), formed in Halden, Norway in 2001 and have been mixing '80s inspired glam metal with classic hard rock, with entertaining lyrics and over-the-top imagery thrown in, to create a good old fashioned rock n' roll vibe for over two decades.

In 2005, the year after the release of their debut album (first titled '667.. The Neighbour of the Beast' and later changed to Hard To Be A Rock N' Roller), the band had their first international breakthrough when they represented Norway in the Eurovision Song Contest, placing ninth with the song "In My Dreams". The band would go on to release three more studio albums, Wig Wamania (2006), Non Stop Rock 'N Roll (2010), and Wall Street (2012) before splitting up in 2014.

The band would reunite in 2019 and work on a new album, Never Say Die, that was released in early 2021. In 2022, the band had a stroke of good fortune when film/television director James Gunn selected their 2010 song "Do Ya Wanna Taste It" (from the album Non Stop Rock 'N Roll) as the opening theme song for the HBO Max show Peacemaker starring John Cena. The show, based on a DC Comics character, showcased the band to a whole new audience who had been previously unaware of them and has seen the band taking on renewed interest and booking more and more live dates around the world.

With new album Out In The Dark in tow, Wig Wam is ready to show even more rock 'n roll fans around the globe their entertaining take on hard rock!

"Out Of The Dark" tracklisting:

"Out Of The Dark" "High And Dry" "Forevermore" "Bad Luck Chuck" "Uppercut Shazam" "Ghosting You" "The Purpose" "The American Dream" "79" "God By Your Side" "Sailor And The Desert Sun"

163 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentário

08 de jan. de 2023

Can't wait. I will definitely be getting this album!

bottom of page